Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Softball Splits ODAC Doubleheader with #1 Virginia Wesleyan

Ashton Lambeth pitched a 4-hitter and drove in the game-winning run in game two.
Ashton Lambeth pitched a 4-hitter and drove in the game-winning run in game two.

VIRGINIA BEACH, Va. -- Ferrum College split an Old Dominion Athletic Conference softball doubleheader with Virginia Wesleyan University this afternoon on the road, dropping the opener 5-0 and winning the nightcap 1-0 at Tom & Betty Broyles Field at TowneBank Park.

Virginia Wesleyan (34-3, 18-2 ODAC)
Ferrum (19-19, 8-10 ODAC)

Virginia Wesleyan is the two-time defending NCAA Division III National Champion. The Marlins are currently, and have spent all but two weeks this season, ranked #1 in the nation.

This is Ferrum's first softball win over an defending national champion and the fourth overall for Ferrum since joining the NCAA Div. III ranks in 1985. Ferrum's baseball has two wins over defending national champs, and the football program has one.

In the opener, Hanna Hull was near perfect on the mound for the Marlins, pitching a complete seven-inning no-hitter with 15 strikeouts. The Marlins led 1-0 after five innings, exploded for four runs in the bottom of the sixth, then rode Hull's arm the rest of the way.

Ferrum's Keri Hamlett doubled to open the third inning of game two, advanced to third on a wild pitch, then scored on Ashton Lambeth's sac fly to left field. Lambeth earned the win on the mound, tossing a complete seven-inning four-hitter.

Virginia Wesleyan: Hull (W, 22-1) 7 inn, 0 hits, 15 K
Ferrum: Jasmine Agee (L, 5-13, 6 inn, 7 hts, 1 ER, 2 BB

Ferrum: Lambeth (W, 14-6) 7 inn, 4 hits, 1 BB
Virginia Wesleyan: Carla Hall (L, 11-2) 7 inn, 3 hits, 3 BB, 3 K

"Great win for our program. Ashton pitched a terrific game and we played great defense." --Head Coach Gerald Culler

Culler's team will be back in action Friday through Sunday, April 26-28, at the ODAC Softball Tournament, to be held at Moyer Sports Complex in Salem, Virginia. The eight-team tournament uses a double-elimination format, with the champion collecting the league's automatic berth into the NCAA Div. III Tournament.